Wk 9 – Art Experience – Graffiti Writing

The activity this week was very fun! And challenging.

I began not really knowing what to expect. I had all the tools and was ready!

pic4It is REALLY hard to get the paint spray to look the way you want it to! I know graffiti artists use tips to help, but unfortunately my spray paint game isn’t quite at that level. I worked with what I had. As I began to spray I realized it it much easier to work in a vertical spray rather than a horizontal spray as the paint didn’t spray well if horizontal, so I had to re-position the board. Once vertical, I began painting and noticed the paint was dripping. I couldn’t win! I know this was most likely because I was spraying too close, however, I actually enjoyed the effect it gave and so I made it  a part of my design.

pic3

I played with the mixture of colors. My friend encouraged me to outline it in black. BIG mistake. It completely ruined the aesthetic I was going for. Oh well. I went with it. It wasn’t too hard to drown out the black into a gray – and it actually did help with being able to read what it actually said.

pic2

Still, I would have liked to keep it light. Overall, I think this was a great learning experience. I have always been impressed with the works of art some graffiti artist are able to create. This art experience just proved to me that they deserve far more respect!

pic1

Leave a Reply

