Wk 8 – Classmate Conversation – Khanh Nguyen

wk8_cc
me left, Khanh left, photobomb above

This week I got to chat with Khanh. I really enjoyed talking with him! Khanh is Vietnamese and has been living in the United States since 2009. I told him my best friend  is also from Vietnam and we have been planning a trip out there for some time. He advises I don’t go, though! He loves California!

Khanh is a busy, busy man. Can you think back to when you were a sophomore in college and things started to get tough…you begin to question who you are and why you are here. What is the point of all these classes being forced on you? What is the point of an education. You ask, “Do I even need an education?”This is where Khanh seems to be. It didn’t take long for the conversation to turn into a venting session for both of us. School is difficult. Working while in school is difficult. Khanh is a tutor at Mathobotix in the little free time he does have. Sadly, Khanh can’t relate to the term “free time” these days.

Through all the venting though, I noticed Khanh still had a smile on his face.  He is working towards a BS in Computer Science and he enjoys it. It wasn’t easy, but I ended up getting it out of him what classes he likes. He knows he wants to work in the field, so through the thick and thin he will finish. At least that was my advice was to him! Even as a senior the exhaustion felt in sophomore year is still fresh…but I know that you make it through.

It was easy talking with Khanh and I wish him the best with the remaining years in school!

Leave a Reply

